Dupes

Dupe | NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Cruella” vs. Rimmel Kate Moss Lipstick in “107”


Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 8.45.26 PM

When I first received the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Cruella” as the 2015 Sephora Beauty Insider birthday gift, I immediately fell in love with it and had a whole new outlook on red lipstick.

0607845024545“Cruella” is a beautiful matte ‘scarlet red’ shade, and because of its neutral undertones, it will flatter a variety of different skintones, which is what makes it so special. The only problem is that is costs $26, which leads me to the main point of this whole post. I found a dupe for the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Cruella”

LastingFinishMatte_PRODUCT_01The dupe I found for this was the Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick by Kate Moss in the shade 107, which only costs $4.99!

IMG_0967_2
Swatches from Left to Right: NARS “Cruella”, Rimmel “107”

When swatched, the Rimmel 107 looks slightly darker and more pinky, while the Cruella is a bit more red. However, when I applied them on my lips, they look identical and I can’t tell the difference. Both shades are matte and extremely long-lasting, yet they don’t feel overly drying on the lips. They are both amazing quality and I would completely recommend purchasing Rimmel “107” next time you go to the drugstore because it is an amazing dupe for NARS “Cruella”!

XOXO,
Makena💗

Connect With Me:
~Instagram~     {Pinterest}      ~Tumblr~    {Twitter}     ~Bloglovin’~

 

18 thoughts on “Dupe | NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Cruella” vs. Rimmel Kate Moss Lipstick in “107””

  1. Thanks! Picked up the Rimmel lipstick today. I was so close to shelling out $26 for Nars cruella since my birthday freebie is running out.

    Like

      1. Hi! Didn’t you think the 107 is a lot more pinkish than red? Just asking coz I bought it and tried it on today, but didnt get the Cruella red 😦

        Like

      2. I wrote this dupe post because I honeslty beleive that it is a wonderful color dupe considering the $20 price with an amazing formula as well. However, different products always work diffrently on different people, so I am sad that it didn’t work out for you. Let me know if you ever need anything:) xoxo

        Like

  2. I loved the Cruella shade. Bought the Rimmel 107, but its a lot pinker than the red in the Cruella! 😦
    I wished to get the deep Cruella red….

    Like

    1. I love “Cruella” too, but on my lips, Rimmel 107 looks exactly the same. I’m so sorry it didn’t work out for you. Maybe you can take “Cruella” into a Sephora, MAC, or Nordstrom store and have someone swatch it for you and find a different dupe. Thanks for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it. xoxo

      Like

  3. Its depend on your undertone i assume?

    I’m a NW10-NW15 girl, Rimmel 107 is a very dark berry-red (blue toned cranberrie) lipstick for me.
    The Cruella one is a classic red with subtile warm undertone.

    I find picture who illustrate what i want to say.
    > On the right Rimmel 107 : http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-D94zvNlZjW0/UTYt33ofW0I/AAAAAAAAAmg/PUhbc_4Pi_A/s640/Collage.png
    > On the left Cruella : http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Bhsnot8zDsE/VXs6IcURnMI/AAAAAAAABf4/LE2YldKDSYI/s1600/Nars%2BCruella%2BLip%2BSwatch.jpg

    🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for reading and letting by me know, I really appreciate the feedback! I have warm skin with yellow/olive undertones and both shades look almost identical on me. It might be influenced by my pigmented lips, but I think considering the $20 price difference, I think it’s a great overall dupe! Thanks! xoxo

      Like

  4. Hi!! . Like most of everyone here, I am a fan of Cruella but don’t want to pay the $27 price tag. I saw this blog and learned about the Rimmel 107 being similar to Cruella, so I went to Target. Now… I can see why some of your commenters above said that 107 looked more pinkish than Cruella. It’s pretty damn close, but it does have more of a raspberry pinkish-hue than what I wanted… BUT…. I’d like to share that I found another Rimmel lipstick (Rimmel #11) to be actually closer to the Cruella color. I am trying to see if I could post a pic on this blog (?) so people can see the similarity in color. (how do you post a photo here by the way?).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, thank you so much for taking the time and effort to read and respond to my post; I really appreciate it! I am aware that unfortunately some of readers do not think the shades are identical, but on my they look exactly the same, so I think it might be because I have more pigmented lips. That is so exciting that you found another dupe and I truly appreciate that you want to help! Unfortunately, I do not think there is a way to post a photo on someone else’s blog or comments section. Thank you so much and please feel free to let me know if you have any other suggestions or questions. xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

