Day-to-Night Makeup for the Holidays | 12 Days of Christmas

During the holidays, we are constantly busy – running errands, spending time with family, and getting dressed up for special occasions all in one day! However, completely redoing your makeup in the middle of the day for a different event it is not realistic, so I am going to teach you how to transition your holiday makeup look from day to night in a few simple steps so that you can spend more time with your family!

Day-Time Makeup

This first half of the look is perfect for the morning and afternoon of Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or New Years, when you want a festive full-face, but do not want anything dramatic or high maintenance. The most important element needed for a successful day-to-night makeup look is a long-lasting base; it is crucial that you do not skip primer and that you use a foundation that you know will last from morning until you take your makeup off. I recommend the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte or Pro Glow 24-Hr Foundations because they both provide medium to full coverage and last over 12 hours really well for different skin types, making them ideal for this look. I highlight and conceal with the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer, a dupe for the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer, and set my face with the Rimmel Stay Matte Translucent Pressed Powder to ensure that everything stays in place. Like always, I am going to use my Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzer (review here) to very lightly warm up the perimeters of my face, and then I will add any blush with a sheen for a nice flushed and festive effect. For a subtle glow, I am going to add the Hard Candy “Tiki” Highlight to my cheekbones, browbones, and cupid’s bow. After priming my eyelids, I am going to use my Too Faced Natural Eyes Eyeshadow Palette (review here) for a simple and classic look. I am using “Nudie,” a light matte beige, as a transition shade, blending “Cashmere Bunny,” a medium matte beige, in my crease, placing a tiny bit of “Sexpresso,” a deep matte brown, on my outer corner, and finally tapping “Heaven,” a matte cream, on my eyelid to make everything bright and clean. When it comes to the perfect day-time mascara, I  love L’Oreal Telescopic for  length and the Maybelline Lash Sensational for curl. For lips, I am going to take my Rimmel ’10’ lipstick, a bright cherry red, and just pat it onto my lips with my finger, topping it with clear gloss. This lip combo is perfect for Christmas, while still looking fresh and very we wearable. Last, but certainly not least, I will set my entire face with the incredible Urban Decay All-Nighter Setting Spray (review here), which is guaranteed to make my makeup last all through the night.

ChristmasDayMakeup.JPG
These products will create the perfect day-time makeup for the holidays!

Night-Time Makeup

The second half of this look is much more bold for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or New Years Eve night! To transition into the updated half of this look, I am going to be using a concealer, a powder, a contour powder, a highlighter, a metallic eyeshadow, an eyeliner, a mascara, and a lipstick. You definitely do not need to bring all of those things in your makeup bag on-the-go, but I wanted to show you all of the possible steps you could tale to transform your look, so that you can choose only the steps you want to do. After wearing the previous look for the majority of the day, your foundation may not look as perfect as it did to begin with, so I always go in with a bit of my concealer on any blemishes or redness peeking through. I then dust some of the same powder I used before on my face over my T-zone to combat any oiliness, so I can stay matte in photos. To take my face makeup to the next level, I will use my same Too Faced bronzer to contour under my cheekbones, on my jawline, and on my temples, and then I will add some of my amazing BECCA x Jaclyn Hill “Champagne Pop” Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Highlighter (review here) for an intense glow! To make my eye look more dramatic, I personally love to take a metallic eyeshadow and pat it onto the center of my eyelid with my finger to make the eyeshadow I already have pop more and easily blend together. You can  use “Silk Teddy,” (a shimmery champagne), “Push Up,” (a shimmery rosey-bronze), or “Honey Pot” (a shimmery gold) for this, but I also think any of the L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows are great, as well. To make it extra dramatic, I am using the Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in “Blackest Black” to line my lid and create a wing for the night, and also top of my lashes with Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara  (review here) to create a false-lash effect! You could also smoke out your lower lashline, as well. This look would not be complete if it did not have the perfect holiday lip, so I am using Rimmel “107,” a deep red with neutral undertones, all over my lips! If you still feel that your face looks a little cakey, then you can go over  everything with a slightly damp BeautyBlender or spritz it with a finishing spray like MAC Fix Plus or the Mario Badescu Rose Water. Now you are ready for an amazing holiday night!

ChistmasNightMakeup.JPG
Touching up the previous look with a few of these products will seamlessly transition you into a fesitve night-time look!

I hope this tutorial helps you easily transition from day to night over the holidays! What are your favorite products and tricks for transforming a subtle look into a dramatic one?

XOXO,
Makena💗

Connect With Me:
~Instagram~     {Pinterest}      ~Tumblr~     {Bloglovin’}

ADD A COMMENT